Meditation Journal 3-21-12

Time: 40min

I dedicate this session and peace to everyone and all beings, and I owe its cultivation to Kuldeep. A small word he wrote to me was to be sincere in my practice. This exposed itself in a meaningful way during my practice today. I realized how my focus has been on working hard lately, with everything I do. I realized that when my mind is focused on working hard, I fixate on results, and measure myself against them, and can feel stressed and rigid, and can be attached to outcomes, and less able to enjoy the ride.
I found that when I focused on a point in the wall, halfway through my session, focusing on sincerity, I simply became happy. I realized that sincerity means that the work itself is an outcome, that the work itself feeds my heart, and purifies my mind, making it rightful, righteous, and making my being happy and contented.
I used slow breathing in my practice to calm my mind, and as Somsak Piyaseelo had advised in the mp3 I listened to (Lovingkindness), I saw the mind as wrapping everything, and I found that making the mind clean and straight, everything became lovely, and I felt that I could easily spread love to everything. I remembered the feeling of harnessing the mind, of radiating peace with it. It is as though my mind is clay and makes different shapes depending on its state. Today I focused on making it a peaceful shape, and saw that the peaceful shape shapes everything in the universe.
Through the lovingkindness prompts, I spontaneously beheld many different people in my life with lovingkindness, and saw their faces before me and my smile grew as I thought of them more intently.
Sincerity is something I will try to keep with me when I wake up and think of all the difficult things I will try to overcome each day. Sincerity feels like a beacon, readily and quickly righting my mind, steadying my sense of purpose and enhancing the feeling I may put into whatever I do and say. Sincerity, and peace following.
A beautiful session.

 

Leave a Reply

