Sincerity

A new understanding has come over me—that I can choose to work hard, be productive, busy. Keeping this sort of focus is a routine way for me to get things done, and to feel accomplished. But they also involve a constant measuring of myself against outcomes, sometimes against external  outcomes, over which I may or may not have so much control.

I decided recently to take on the practice of cultivating sincerity over laboriousness. Is my heart in what I’m doing? Even before I think about what I am doing, am I in tune with my heart? My genuineness? If so, I will work as hard as necessary, and more importantly, I will have more faith that I am working for the right reasons, no matter what I am doing.

Can this be a lesson to apply to our actions, and the person doing them? Can we use it to see new ways of applying ourselves to what we do? An excerpt from Confucian Analects expresses the same sentiments in the beginning of this post:

“Hold faithfulness and sincerity as first principles. Then no friends would not be like yourself (all friends would be as loyal as yourself). If you make a mistake, do not be afraid to correct it.”

Chengyi, (Mandarin, "Sincerity")

2 thoughts on “Sincerity

  1. Hey Max, since I started to meditate I´m really engaged with discover the true of my hearth as well. For a long time I tried to get busy to feel effective and useful, but now I think that occupy our mind with work can be just another way to don´t pay attention to important things that my hard was asking me for.
    I´ve discovered that sometimes is really hard to follow this voice inside us, but sincerity and courage are for sure the only tools we have to find true happiness.

    You´re doing a great job!

    My best wishes for you :)

Leave a Reply

